Skip to main content

St. Luke Evangelical Lutheran Church

Grounded in Christ - Growing In Community

St Luke Home Page
About Us
Our Sanctuary
Ministry Teams
Newsletters, Forms, etc.
Photo Gallery
Readings and Gospel
Prayer & Spirituality
Video Channel
Site Map
Useful Links
Synod 2014
Welcome to St. Luke Lutheran Church in Richmond, VA.
on Chippenham Parkway at Custis Road, between the Forest Hill and Huguenot exits.

We invite you to join us in worship, service and love.
All is prepared for you!


Sunday, July 27, 2014

Seventh Sunday after Pentecost


10:00am Worship with Holy Communion

Special Music: Women's Duo



As Solomon prays for wisdom, we seek to more deeply know the treasures of faith. In today's gospel Jesus offers everyday images that reveal to us the reign of God: a tree that becomes a sheltering home, yeast that penetrates and expands, a treasured pearl, a net that gains a great catch. Even as we seek the riches of God's reign, the great surprise is that God's grace finds us first!





1 Kings 3:5–12

Psalm 119:129–136 When your word is opened, it gives light and understanding. (Ps. 119:130)

Romans 8:26–39

Matthew 13:31–33, 44–52



Prayer of the Day


Beloved and sovereign God,

through the death and resurrection of your Son

you bring us into your kingdom of justice and mercy.

By your Spirit, give us your wisdom,

that we may treasure the life that comes from Jesus Christ,

our Savior and Lord.





Sunday, August 3, 2014

Eighth Sunday after Pentecost


10:00am Worship with Holy Communion 




In today's first reading God invites all who are hungry or thirsty to receive food and drink without cost. Jesus feeds the hungry multitude and reveals the abundance of God. At the eucharistic table we remember all who are hungry or poor in our world today. As we share the bread of life, we are sent forth to give ourselves away as bread for the hungry.




Isaiah 55:1–5

Psalm 145:8–9, 14–21 You open wide your hand and satisfy the desire of every living thing. (Ps. 145:16)

Romans 9:1–5

Matthew 14:13–21



Prayer of the Day


Glorious God,

your generosity waters the world with goodness,

and you cover creation with abundance.

Awaken in us a hunger for the food that satisfies both body and spirit,

and with this food fill all the starving world;

through your Son, Jesus Christ, our Savior and Lord.





What's happening?

St. Luke Calendar

Click Here

 St. Luke

Click here


Prayer & Spirituality 

Click here


Readings & Gospel

Click here


Pastor Fred's


Click here


Confirmation Photos

Click here 


Synod 2014
Reports and Photos

Click here


Alexander Paley
Music Festival

Sept 26, 27, 28, 2014

For info:Click here










This page was last updated on July 20, 2014